Diocesan Council reports on past year, new members elected at Synod

Diocesan Council reports on past year, new members elected at Synod

Synod accepted the report of the Diocesan Council, which highlights the work of the Council in the past year.  The Council helps the Bishops to oversee the governance of the mission, ministry and management of the diocese in between sessions of Synod and operates in a relational context.  As John Whitehead put it when he moved the motion to accept the report, Diocesan Council is “a discipleship group that happens to do governance.”   Council members join in with Eucharist at the Cathedral, begin and end with prayer, and each take turns preaching a homily throughout the year.  Once a year, the members join with the Board of Trustees and Archdeacons on a retreat designed to deepen relationships, lean into prayer as core business, and to “fuse governance and discipleship together.”

In this last year, part of the Council’s work has been supporting new ventures such as the Ohākune lodge retreat space in the Ruapehu Parish hall and the new Lyall Bay Community Church, whilst also supporting mission units when the road ahead is uncertain, helping them to journey ahead well, as part of the diocesan family.

Council has supported the work of the Deputy Diocesan Manager investigating possible improvements to our sabbatical provisions (read more about this in Motion X), as well as parishes’ work to transition to the more lightweight mechanism of managing their finances through Xero.

Membership of Council has also changed, as a result of elections at Synod.  The terms ofRev Jennie Sim (pictured) and Archdeacon Stuart Goodin have come to an end, and Archdeacon Wendy Scott offered a heartfelt vote of thanks on behalf of Synod to both these members, who have served tirelessly during their time on Council.  Synod then appointed Rev Ben Johnson-Frow (Vicar of Johnsonville), Rev Caroline Willis (Chaplain at Chilton St James’ School) in their place, and Sue Chalmers (Parish of Stokes Valley), who replaces Hilary Kendall who left Council in 2018.

Full membership of the Council is now:

  • Bishop Justin Duckworth
  • Bishop Eleanor Sanderson
  • Rev Canon Sue Fordyce
  • Rev Ben Johnson-Frow
  • Rev Caroline Willis
  • Rev Pete Watson
  • John Whitehead
  • David McLay
  • Lyn O’Fee
  • Michael Webster
  • Sue Chalmers

Read the full Diocesan Council report here.

Return to Synod News