Retirement village with diocesan roots joins Selwyn Foundation family

Retirement village with diocesan roots joins Selwyn Foundation family

Residents and staff of Sprott House retirement village in Karori, Wellington; joined Board members of The Selwyn Foundation and trustees of Sprott House Board to mark the village’s transfer of ownership to Selwyn and its new name: Selwyn Sprott Village.

The Selwyn Foundation is an independent, Christian faith-based New Zealand charitable trust with deep Anglican roots in the Diocese of Auckland.  They provide services to older people and their families, and the acquisition of Sprott House in Wellington marks their first presence in the retirement village landscape in our diocese, complementing its core business activities in Auckland, Northland and Waikato.

The Selwyn Foundation has led the way in improving the quality of life of senior citizens for over sixty-four years.  Its charitable goals are centred on key issues that affect older people’s wellbeing and potentially make them vulnerable, with its charitable work focussed specifically on reducing loneliness and social isolation, increasing the availability of affordable housing options, and mitigating the impact of financial hardship.

Wellington’s Sprott House similarly has a long heritage of providing quality care and charitable service.  It was first established in 1898 by our diocese to provide care for young women and children.  It became a residential aged care home in 1951 and now comprises a 73-room care facility (rest home and hospital), a purpose-built, dedicated secure dementia care unit for 24 people and 13 independent living villas.

At the recent celebratory event marking the handover, Selwyn Board Chair, Dr Kay Hawk, said: “As we jointly celebrate this new era in our growth and development – and in honouring the heritage of both of our organisations within our new village name – we look forward to going into the future much stronger and with greater potential to continue our shared work and mission in support of the older person.”

Photo: Courtesy Selwyn Foundation.  Pictured at the Selwyn Sprott Village event are (from left to right): Selwyn Sprott Village General Manager Chris Sanders, President of the Sprott House Board of Trustees Don Rennie, Chair of The Selwyn Foundation Board Dr Kay Hawk, Selwyn Chief Executive Officer Garry Smith and Sprott House Board Vice President Julie Crengle.